10 Notes to Know: November 25, 2019

November 25, 2019
Justin Ray
  1. Jon Rahm shot a final round 68 to win the DP World Tour Championship for the second time in the last three years. Rahm has been dominant in the event – since making his debut in 2017, Rahm has a combined score to par of 52-under, 13 strokes better than anyone else in that span (Sergio Garcia is second, at -39).
  1. Rahm reached six career European Tour wins in just 40 starts, becoming the fastest to do that since Tiger Woods, who reached six wins in 26 European Tour-sanctioned events. Rahm got to six wins in 15 fewer starts than legend and fellow Spaniard Seve Ballesteros, who needed 55 tournaments.
  1. Rahm also won the season-long Race to Dubai, becoming just the second Spaniard to win the season-long race (either Order of Merit, as it was formerly called, or the newer Race to Dubai). Ballesteros won the Order of Merit on six occasions, second-most all-time. Colin Montgomerie won it eight times.
  1. Rory McIlroy shot a disappointing 73 in the final round, tying his highest final round score worldwide in 2019. It’s been an incredible year though for Rory, even without a major win – in 25 starts worldwide, he finished outside the top-ten just six times.
  1. Robert Macintyre clinched the European Tour Rookie of the Year title, given this year to the rookie who finished highest in the Race to Dubai standings. Macintyre finished the season with a combined score to par of 160-under, best of any player this season. Bob is the first Scot to earn the honor since Marc Warren in 2006.
  1. Tyler Duncan earned his first PGA Tour win, knocking off Webb Simpson on the second-hole of a playoff at the RSM Classic. Including the playoff, Duncan made just one bogey in 74 holes for the entire tournament.
  1. Duncan led the field for the week in approach shot proximity to the hole, averaging 24’11”, the best mark in any event in his PGA Tour career. He hit 34 of his last 38 greens in regulation over the last two days of competition (playoff included).
  1. Brendon Todd, coming off wins in consecutive PGA Tour events, had an admirable fourth place finish at the RSM Classic. Todd was trying to become the first player since Tiger Woods in 2006 to win three straight events on the PGA Tour schedule. He also would have been just the fourth different player since 2000 to win in three starts in a row on the Tour, joining Woods, Vijay Singh, Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy.
  1. Sei Young Kim buried a birdie putt on the 72nd hole to win the CME Group Tour Championship by 1 stroke. The title came with an enormous payday of $1.5 million – the largest prize in the history of women’s professional golf. To put that into perspective, just 20 years ago Karrie Webb became the first woman to win more than $1.5M in an entire LPGA season.
  1. Kim became just the fourth woman from South Korea to reach 10 LPGA wins, joining Se Ri Pak (25), Inbee Park (19) and Jiyai Shin 11). With her third win of the season, Kim joined Jin Young Ko as the only players on the LPGA Tour to win more than twice in 2019.

“Ten Notes to Know” will return on December 9. To those celebrating next week, Happy Thanksgiving.