10 Notes to Know: October 28, 2019

October 28, 2019
Justin Ray
  1. Tiger Woods won the Zozo Championship, his 82nd official PGA Tour victory. The win ties Tiger with Sam Snead for first place on the PGA Tour’s official all-time list. Woods reached the mark in 66 fewer career starts than Snead did.
  1. Woods held the lead or co-lead following every round this week, his 14th career PGA Tour victory while doing that. Over the last thirty years, that is twice as many such wins as anyone else. Phil Mickelson is second in that span, with seven.
  1. Woods’ 82 PGA Tour wins are all since the beginning of the 1996 season, during the middle of which he turned pro. Since the beginning of 1996, the players with the second-most and third-most wins, Mickelson and Vijay Singh, have combined to win 70 times.
  1. Woods made 27 birdies in the tournament, just one shy of his career-high in any PGA Tour event. Tiger now has three PGA Tour wins since the 2018 FedExCup Playoffs began, tied for most of any player in that span. Brooks Koepka, Rory McIlroy and Bryson DeChambeau also have three victories during that stretch.
  1. Woods led by three strokes entering the final round. He is now 25-for-25 converting 54-hole leads of three strokes or more in his PGA Tour career. Tiger is now 55-for-59 converting 54-hole leads/co-leads of any size on the PGA Tour, the best percentage in recorded history.
  1. This is the 8th time Woods has opened a PGA Tour season with a victory. In five of the previous seven instances, he went on to win a major championship later that season. Woods had a 72-hole total score of 261, his lowest on the PGA Tour in 12 years and tied for the third-lowest total of his incredible career.
  1. Hideki Matsuyama finished runner-up, becoming the 83rd different player to finish runner-up (2nd place or T-2) to Tiger on the PGA Tour. This was the first ever PGA Tour event held in Japan, Hideki’s home country.
  1. Woods is just the fifth player to win a major championship and an additional PGA Tour title in the same calendar year at age 43 or older. The others are Mickelson (2013), Hale Irwin (1990), Ray Floyd (1986) and Julius Boros (1963).
  1. Ha Na Jang defeated Danielle Kang in a playoff to win the BMW Ladies Championship, her fifth career LPGA title. Meanwhile, Jin Young Ko mathematically clinched Rolex Player of the Year honors, an annual distinction awarded to the top statistical performer on the LPGA circuit.
  1. On the European Tour, Steven Brown found the perfect time to break through with his first European Tour victory. After beginning the week 150th in the Race to Dubai standings – well outside the mark to keep his card – Brown was 11-under and bogey-free on the weekend to claim a one-stroke win.